Myers Award


Award Events


The George Hewitt Myers Award honors lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions in the field of textile arts. The award, named for The Textile Museum’s founder and given by the board of trustees, is recognized as the highest international accolade in the field of textile arts.

2022 Award

Elizabeth Wayland Barber is the recipient of the 2022 George Hewitt Myers Award in recognition of her lifetime achievements in the textile arts. Dr. Barber is an accomplished author and scholar, recognized as one of the world's leading authorities on ancient textiles. Her influential publications include Prehistoric Textiles: The Development of Cloth in the Neolithic and Bronze Ages with Special Reference to the Aegean and Women's Work: The First 20,000 Years, Women, Cloth, and Society in Early Times. She served as professor of linguistics and archaeology at Occidental College from 1969 to her retirement in 2007.

Make a gift to the museum in honor of awardee Elizabeth Wayland Barber.

Past Myers Award Honorees

2019   Thomas P. Campbell, museum leader and scholar

2018   Guido Goldman, collector and philanthropist

2016   Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada, artist and scholar

2015   Bruce P. Baganz, museum leader

2012   Walter Denny, scholar, educator, and author

2011   Milton Sonday, artist and scholar

2010   Michael Franses, author and publisher

2009   Mattiebelle Gittinger, scholar

2008   Jon Thompson, scholar

2007   Lloyd Cotsen, collector and philanthropist

2006   Josephine Powell, ethnographer and photographer

2005   Jack Lenor Larsen, textile designer