2016 George Hewitt Myers Award Dinner

This year’s award dinner will take place at the Fairmont on Thursday, November 3. The event will kick off a weekend celebrating the opening of the exhibition Bingata! Only in Okinawa and the museum’s fall symposium at the George Washington University. Individual tickets are now available at $250 per person. You are invited to become a sponsor of the 2016 award dinner with a donation between $1,000 and $10,000. All contributions support The Textile Museum.

Become a Sponsor 

The George Hewitt Myers Award

Named for The Textile Museum’s founder and given by the Board of Trustees, the George Hewitt Myers Award recognizes an individual’s lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the field of textile arts. This year, the award will be presented to Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada for her artistic and scholarly contributions to the textile field.

Yoshiko is celebrated globally as an artist, curator, historian, and teacher in the textile and fiber art world. With nearly forty years of experience, she has continually advocated and advanced the historic textile and contemporary fiber art field. Yoshiko has curated exhibitions at the Museum of Craft and Folk Art in San Francisco, the Jim Thompson Art Center in Bangkok, and co-curated The Textile Museum’s 1996 exhibition The Kimono Inspiration: Art and Art-To-Wear in America. Furthermore, Yoshiko is an accomplished artist and the author of numerous publications on Japanese art and shibori technique. In addition to her academic and artistic achievements, Yoshiko is President of the World Shibori Network, founder of Slow Fiber Studios, producer of the Natural Dye Workshop film series, and co-chair of the 10th International Shibori Symposium in Oaxaca, Mexico.

Past Myers Award Honorees

  • 2005   Jack Lenor Larsen, textile designer
  • 2006   Josephine Powell, ethnographer and photographer
  • 2007   Lloyd Cotsen, collector and philanthropist
  • 2008   Jon Thompson, scholar
  • 2009   Mattiebelle Gittinger, scholar
  • 2010   Michael Franses, author and publisher
  • 2011   Milton Sonday, artist and scholar
  • 2012   Walter Denny, scholar, educator and author
  • 2015   Bruce P. Baganz, museum leader

The Textile Museum Award of Distinction

During the George Hewitt Myers Award Dinner, the Board of Trustees will also present The Textile Museum’s Award of Distinction to Rebecca A. T. Stevens, a consulting curator for contemporary textiles at The Textile Museum for over three decades. The Award of Distinction recognizes exceptional contributions that have significantly advanced the museum in the fulfillment of its mission. Rebecca will be recognized for her significant influence in establishing the museum’s contemporary textile arts presence through the years. Among the multiple exhibitions and accompanying catalogues that Rebecca has helped to organize for The Textile Museum are The Kimono Inspiration: Art and Art-To-Wear in America co-curated with this year’s George Hewitt Myers Award Honoree Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada, Green: the Color and the Cause, Technology as Catalyst: Textile Artists on the Cutting Edge, and most recently Stories of Migration: Contemporary Artists Interpret Diaspora.

Host Committee

Confirmed as of November 1

Jack Lenor Larsen, Honorary Co-Chair
Issey Miyake, Honorary Co-Chair
Junichi Arai
Luther W. Brady, MD
Cynthia Boyer
Dominique Cardon
Eleanor Coppola
Candace Edgerley
Zhao Feng
Virginia McGehee Friend
Gerhardt Knodel
Ratna Krishnakumar
Binghow Mui
Eleanor T. Rosenfeld
Beatrijs Sterk
Kahei Takeda
Hiroko Watanabe


Event Supporters

Confirmed as of November 1

Nancy and Carl Gewirz
Deena and Jerry Kaplan

Bruce and Terry Baganz
Cynthia and Alton Boyer
Virginia McGehee Friend
Richard H. Brown and Mary Jo Otsea

K. Burke Dillon
Tom and Gwen Farnham
Sachiko Kuno
Paul and Barbara Schwartz
Michael Seidman and Lynda Couvillion

Terry Adlhock and Jeffrey Hunter

Sue Baum
Luther W. Brady, MD
Eleanor Coppola
Julie Schafler Dale
Jane W. Daniels
Jannes Waples Gibson
The Glenmede Trust Company
Diane and Marc Grainer 

Madeleine Jacobs
Julie Jensen
Stuart and Gail Kassan
Melissa McGee Keshishian
Jeffrey Krauss

David and Ethelmary Maddox
Anne Mehringer and Terry Beaty
Elizabeth and Robert Perry
Felix and Keisha Phillips
Roger and Claire Pratt

Eleanor T. Rosenfeld

Darcy Walker